Winners 2008

Best Actor
sponsored by Tiscali
Michael Fassbender for Hunger
Best Actress
sponsored by M.A.C Cosmetics
Vera Farmiga for The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Best Director
sponsored by The Creative Partnership
Danny Boyle for Slumdog Millionaire
Best Screenplay
sponsored by BBC Films
Martin McDonagh for In Bruges
Best Supporting Actor
Eddie Marsan for Happy-Go-Lucky
Best Supporting Actress
Alexis Zegerman for Happy-Go-Lucky
Best Technical Achievement
sponsored by Skillset
Sean Bobbitt for Hunger
Douglas Hickox
Steve McQueen for Hunger
Most Promising Newcomer
Dev Patel for Slumdog Millionaire
The Richard Harris Award
sponsored by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures (UK)
David Thewlis
The Special Jury Prize
sponsored by UK Film Council
Joe Dunton
The Variety Award
Michael Sheen
Achievement in Production
The Escapist
Best Foreign Independent
Waltz with Bashir
The Raindance Award
Zebra Crossings
Best British Independent Film
Slumdog Millionaire
Best British Short Film
sponsored by Dailymotion
Best British Documentary
sponsored by Chapter Media
Man on Wire
Title_moët & chandon